Rather Be Reading » A Blog by Two Busy Girls Who Always Find Time For a Each Other

Masthead header

Magan: Open Road Summer by Emery Lord, A Vlog Review

Howdy, y’all! Man it feels so incredibly wonderful to type these words. It feels so good to be here talking books. And yes, quite literally below, I talk books in my vlog. I’m really wanting to mix things up a bit and as I’m just on an altogether different schedule with a newborn, vlogs seem like the best solution for me right now. My hope is that it’s a) not boring for you and b) fun to watch. I really want your feedback about what you think so if you’ve got some, leave it below in the comments. Okay? Alright, let’s get started!

Book Review for Open Road Summer by Emery LordHighlights of Open Road Summer by Emery Lord:

  • Incredible friendships — something I want to see much, much more of in the books I read. I get kind of bogged down by the drama sometimes. Reagan and Dee are friendship gurus.
  • Mucho, mucho hotness in the form of Matt Finch. He’ll make you swoon. And laugh. And want to know him in real life.
  • A girl who is incredibly relatable because she’s made some stupid mistakes. Who hasn’t done something they regret? * cue the crickets*
  • ORS made me feel just about every emotion and made me miss my BFF, Estelle, somethin’ fierce.

A few quotes, as promised:

“He’s kind of beautiful, in an understated, comfortable-looking-way — the kind of guy who doesn’t mind seeing a rom-com with you and gives you his hoodie when you’re cold.”

“We’re saying a lot within the silence: We can’t and I know and But I want to and Me too. The effort of restraint burns in my chest — a physical ache from holding back.”

“Laughter feels like our flotation device — it won’t pull us out of the storm, but it might carry us through, if we can just hang on.”

“If we could capture feelings like we capture pictures, none of us would ever leave our rooms. It would be so tempting to inhabit the good moments over and over again. But I don’t want to be the kind of person who lives backwardly, who memorializes moments before she’s finished living in them.”

And a shameless photo to introduce you, officially, to my daughter Everett:

I spend a lot, lot, lot of time holding this little lady. How could I NOT? Sometimes when I’m really craving some reading time, I rock her and read my book aloud to her. She did, in fact, hear a good chunk of Open Road Summer. I hereby vow to turn this girl into a book-lover. Or try my darnedest. 😉

Everett

Rather Be Reading Buy It Icon

Add to Goodreads | Buy on Amazon | Buy from Barnes & Noble

March 30, 2015 - 8:01 am

The Start of Me and You by Emery Lord | Estelle Review - […] THE START OF ME AND YOU to Goodreads | Buy on Amazon | Buy on B&N ♥ M’s review of OPEN ROAD SUMMER | Collaborative OPEN ROAD SUMMER […]

June 23, 2014 - 9:02 am

Open Road Summer: A Playlist + More Gushing, Estelle - […] on OPEN ROAD SUMMER: Magan’s vlog | on Goodreads | Amazon | B&N | Befriended with Emery […]

June 1, 2014 - 4:47 am

Judith - THIS IS JUST SO LOVELY, MAGAN! Please keep vlog reviews a thing, because they’re really great. Of course, I am in love with this book, and I am totally buying my best friend a copy as well. And yes, Reagan and Dee are the best. I don’t think I’ve ever read about a lovelier friendship in books. Their friendship made me cry! Also, Everett is SOOOOO CUTE! It’s great you read this book to (with) her, and I hope she will also find a best friend as great as you and Estelle, or Dee and Reagan.

April 27, 2014 - 6:00 pm

Hannah @ So Obsessed With - 1. MAMA MAGAN! You’re baaaaack! Love seeing your cute face 🙂
2. I really love the idea of incorporating more vlogs into RBR. I had so much fun watching this one and look forward to more.
3. Holy cow, I looooved this book. Soooo much.
4. Helllllo, Matt Finch.
5. Yay quotes! I included a bunch in my review, too. The writing was amazing.
6. I like getting a peek at your bookshelf styling.
7. Precious baby! Wish I could meet sweet baby Everett <3

April 22, 2014 - 10:31 am

Brittany @ The Book Addict's Guide - She is just SO precious. Love the pictures of her!!!
I’m at work so I’ll have to check out your LOVELY vlog later but SO much love for this book too! I loved everything about it. It was just wonderful and made me fall in love with every aspect. (Oops, did I say love too much?)

April 17, 2014 - 12:08 am

Kelly @ Belle of the Literati - Oh my gosh, your beautiful baby!!! Love love love!! And alright, alright! Everyone has been raving about this book, I’ll go read it, geez 🙂

April 14, 2014 - 1:31 pm

elena - hiiii!!! love love loved this, ESPECIALLY the end when you said to give a copy for your best friend. perfect endorsement! i loved the friendship in this so much and everything you said about dee & reagan. they made me so happy! <3

April 13, 2014 - 1:08 am

Melissa @ Writer Grrl Reads - So happy to see your beautiful face! And your baby girls’s face too — she’s so adorable :). I read aloud to Marko when he was little too…and he’s pretty into books so far, so I think it works! I’m definitely interested in this book, especially after hearing that you loved it so much.

April 12, 2014 - 9:00 am

Shelve It: Books Books Lots of Books, Estelle - […] RETURNS with a vlog review of the highly anticipated Open Road Summer The Summer Spring I Found You by Jolene Perry — high school senior with a secret + an army […]

April 11, 2014 - 10:26 pm

Lisa is Busy Nerding - Reading out loud to your child is the BEST THING EVER.
Good for you!
Oh and the review is great too. 🙂

April 11, 2014 - 8:29 pm

Alexa S. - I AM SO HAPPY TO SEE YOUR FACE, M! And I think it’s a perfect combination – your first review vlog AND it’s about Open Road Summer. It’s a gorgeous book, it’s got great characters (HELLO Matt Finch! Oh, and Reagan and Dee!), and it’s just SO ADDICTIVE. So happy to hear that you enjoyed it as much as I did! <3

April 11, 2014 - 3:06 pm

Annette - How precious. Thanks for sharing. Never apologize for sharing pictures of your beautiful girl!

Your email is never published or shared. Required fields are marked *

*

*

Back to Top|Subscribe via RSS|Subscribe by Email